PM, Sonia, Pranab cast their ballots in Presidential poll


Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi and UPA Presidential nominee Pranab Mukherjee today cast their ballots in the 14th Presidential election.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi also joined the trio in exercising his franchise in the election where a clear favourite Mukherjee is pitted against P A Sangma sponsored by the BJP and some other Opposition parties.

Singh, Gandhi and Mukherjee waved at the group of camerapersons covering the elections.

Among the early voters were Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav, BSP supremo Mayawati, NCP President and Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar.

From the Opposition, BJP leaders Murli Manohar Joshi, Anurag Thakur, Yashodhara Raje, BJD leaders B Mahtab, Baijayant Panda, P K Patsani, were among the early voters.

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Harish Rawat said that over 350 electors had cast their ballots within the first hour since the polling began at 10 am.

As many as 699 MPs and eight MLAs are expected to exercise their franchise in Parliament House.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus