Post office scam: 7 sent to jail; slapped Rs 1 crore 84 thousand fine

Post office scam

A CBI court today sent seven persons, including two sub postmasters, to jail in a case of theft of National Savings Certificates and Kisan Vikas Patras in 1998. "Special CBI Judge S Lal also imposed a combined fine of Rs 1 crore eighty four lakh on the convicts Sub postmasters Mayaram Bhatt and Jamuna Prasad and Shyam Das, Anupam Sharma, Lalit Kumar, Vinod Kumar and Rajendra Kumar," prosecution V K Singh. While the two sub postmasters have been given seven years of rigorous imprisonment each, Anupam Sharma, Vinod Kumar, Rajendra Kumar and Lalit Kumar were given 10 years of imprisonment. Shyam Das was awarded five years in jail. There were a total of nine accused in the case. The eighth accused, Daya Ram, had absconded during the trial and the court today issued a non-bailable warrant against him. The ninth accused had absconded before the commencement of the trial and was not tried. It is for the first time that the fine imposed on the accused in a case is more than the loss suffered, which in this case is Rs one crore seventeen thousand. National Savings Certificates and Kisan Vikas Patras were stolen from a goods train parked at the Patna Junction on February 23, 1998.

Later, it was found that 654 of the stolen certificates, worth Rs one crore seventeen thousand, had been encashed in Ambala, Ludhiana and Bareilly in connivance with Mayaram Bhatt and Jamuna Prasad who were then posted at the Noida Sectors 12

and 55 post offices. The CBI had filed the charge sheet in the case on November 11, 2000. The case was registered in Ghaziabad as then Noida came in the Ghaziabad district.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.