PU senate elections: Results for third round declared

The polling results for the third round of counseling in the professors and readers' constituency were declared today. The winning candidates are Karamjit Singh and Rupinder Tewari from the professor's constituency and Dinesh Kumar and M C Sidhu from the reader's constituency.

Of the 12 candidates that were competing for the four seats, in the professor's constituency, Akshaya Kumar, S K Chadha and Karamjit Singh contested from the arts department. Karamjit won with a total of 70 votes while Kumar secured 51 votes, followed by Chadha, who got 34 votes.

In the science department, the competing faculty in the professor's constituency were Rupinder Tewari, S K Mehta and Sukesh Kumar. Tewari won with 20 votes, Mehta secured 17 votes while Kumar managed 5 votes.

In the reader's constituency, competing faculty from the arts department were Dinesh Kumar, Pradeep Sharma and Kuljeet Brar. 154 votes were secured by Dinesh Kumar who won against 132 polled by Pardeep Kumar and 23 votes by Brar. In the science department, competitors in the reader's constituency were Kamaljeet Singh, Malkiat C Sidhu and Amit Chauhan. Victory chose Sidhu with 92 votes, as opposed to Kamaljeet with 45 votes and Amit Chauhan with 51 votes.

Both the winning candidates from the professor's constituency belong to the Ashok Goel group while Dinesh Kumar was supported by the BJP. The fourth senator M C Sidhu is an independent candidate.

Candidates supported by the Ashok Goel group had won five out of six seats in the election of faculties held on August 29 while those supported by G K Chatrath had managed to win from the law faculty segment.

The winning candidate Karamjit Singh is from University Business School, Rupinder Tewari belongs to the Biotechniology Department, M C Sidhu is from the Department of Botany and Dinesh Kumar belongs to the Department of Law.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.