Race in Cong for BMC Oppn leader post

The race has begun in the Congress for the Leader of the Opposition post in the BMC, with four-term corporator from Bhandup Suresh Koparkar emerging as the frontrunner. The name of two-term corporator Devendra Amberkar has also been recommended.

The names of two women corporators three-term corporator Sheetal Mhatre and Jyotsna Dighe were also discussed. "The final decision will be taken by the party high command. These corporators have been identified," a Congress minister said. The party has decided to contest the mayor elections and a whip was issued on Friday to corporators to remain present during the filing of nominations on Monday. The Sena-BJP is, however, likely to get the support of Independent corporators to help it win the post.

The party MLAs and MPs met AICC in-charge of state affairs Mohan Prakash and Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan on Friday to discuss these issues and analyse the poor performance of the party in BMC elections. "It was a mistake to tie up with the NCP in Mumbai. The decision remained on paper and the results show that the two parties did not work together. Groupism and wrong selection of candidate worked against the alliance," a senior Congress leader said.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.