Rahul to embark on Gujarat campaign from tomorrow

After Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Congress chief Sonia Gandhi hitting the campaign trail in Gujarat, Rahul Gandhi will be addressing rallies in the Narendra Modi-run state for the first time from tomorrow, the last day of canvassing for the first phase of polls.

The Congress leader will address meetings at Sanand in Ahmedabad in central Gujarat and at Jamnagar and Amreli in Saurashtra regions.

Sonia and the prime minister have already campaigned in the state where the party is out of power for two decades.

Rahul, who has been the "number two" in the Congress, will soon take up an important responsibility in the party and the AICC has declared that he will lead UPA's campaign in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

The assembly elections in Gujarat are crucial for the party, where it is expecting to better its performance.

Congress has assiduously made an attempt to prevent polarisation of election campaign on communal lines and hence refrained from touching on the issue of post-Godhra riots this time, which it had used to the hilt in last assembly elections. Senior Congress leaders have been targeting Modi's development claims instead this time.

Addressing a rally in Siddhpur today, Sonia also dubbed the Modi government as "anti-people" alleging that the BJP-led dispensation in Gujarat is indulging in "wrong-doings".

Attacking the development plank of Modi government, she said one should ask why more than four and half lakh farmers were not getting power connection despite the Centre providing electricity.

Polls in Gujarat will be held on December 13 and 17.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.