Rahul wins title, double delight for Kalyani

In a nail-biting encounter, Rahul Malhotra of Accountant General Punjab faced a resilient Saurabh Lathwal of Ramjas College of Delhi, but managed to beat him in a thrilling final in the men's singles category of the Prof RS Mehta memorial Open Table Tennis tournament at the Sector 23 Table Tennis Hall on Saturday.

With both the players going neck to neck in every game, Rahul found it hard to counter Saurabh's challenge but had enough firepower left in him to dismantle his opponent. After winning the first two games by 14-12 and 11-8, Rahul lost the third game 6-11, but bounced back to claim the fourth game 11-9. Despite Saurabh threatening to snatch the game away, Rahul kept his nerves and took authority over the match by winning the fifth game 11-7, to lay his hands on the title.

Meanwhile, Kalyani of SD College, Sector 32, claimed twin titles in the tournament by annexing the junior girl's singles and youth girl's singles finals. In the junior girl's final, Kalyani got the better of Pareen of DAV Public School, Sector 18, by 11-6, 5-11, 11-5, 13-11 while in the youth girl's final, she prevailed over Neha of Jalandhar 10-12, 11-6, 11-1, 11-5. Naina Suri of SD College, Sector 32, beat Kalyani 10-12, 1-11, 9-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-6, 11-6, for the women's singles title.

Results (all finals): Junior girls singles (Under-18): Kalyani (SD-32) bt Pareen (DAVPS-8) 11-6, 5-11, 11-5, 13-11; Junior boys singles (under-18): Pankaj Sidana (Manav Mangal-21) bt Mayank Kapoor (DAVPS-8) 6-11, 13-11, 11-5, 11-8; Youth girls singles (Under-21): Kalyani (SD College-32) bt Neha (Jalandhar) 10-12, 11-6, 11-1, 11-5; Young boys (Unjder-21): Arnav (LPU) bt Dinker Goel (10-12, 11-5,12-10, 11-9); Women's singles: Naina Suri (SD College-32) bt Kalyani (SDC-32) 10-12, 1-11, 9-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-6, 11-6; Men's singles: Rahul Malhotra (AG Punjab) bt Saurabh Lathwal (Ramjas College, Delhi) 14-12, 11-8, 6-11, 11-9, 11-7.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.