Rail budget: Focus on Mathura, besides Rae Bareli, Amethi

Rail budget

Besides Rae Bareli and Amethi, which are Lok Sabha constituencies of UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, Mathura has got special attention in new train services proposed in the Railway Budget presented in Parliament on Tuesday.

Mathura is represented by RLD general secretary Jayant Chaudhary, who is son of Union Civil Aviation Minister Ajit Singh.

Out of nine express trains proposed in the rail budget for year 2013-14 in UP, four trains will pass via Mathura and two via Rae Bareli. The Kolkata-Agra Express (daily) will run via Amethi, Rae Bareli and Mathura; Kota-Jammu Tawi Express (weekly) via Mathura and Palwal; Bandra Terminus-Ramnagar Express (weekly) via Nagda, Mathura, Kanpur, Lucknow and Rampur; Jaipur-Lucknow Express (tri-weekly) via Bandikui, Mathura and Kanpur; Yesvantpur-Lucknow Express (weekly) via Rae Bareli and Pratapgarh and Lucknow-Varanasi Express via Rae Bareily (6 days a week).

The other three express trains connecting cities in UP include Kamakhya (Guwahati)-Anand Vihar Express (weekly) via Katihar, Barauni, Sitapur Cantonment and Moradabad; Kanpur-Anand Vihar Express (weekly) via Farrukhabad and Mau-Anand Vihar Express (bi-weekly).

The state has also got two DEMU services between Lucknow and Sultanpur and Lucknow and Pratapgarh via Gauriganj. New MEMU trains are being introduced between Barabanki and Kanpur, and Lucknow and Hardoi. A new passenger train will run between Bareilly and Lalkuan daily.

Five trains have got extension, giving connectivity to UP districts with other states. These include Allahabad-Mathura Express that has been extended to Jaipur; Chhapra-Kanpur Anwarganj Express extended to Farrukhabad; Chandigarh-Lucknow Express extended to Patna (2 days); Sealdah-Varanasi Express (2 days) extended to Delhi via Lucknow, Moradabad and Delhi-Shamli DEMU extended to Saharanpur.

A new line between Sultanpur and Kadipur and doubling between Rae Bareli and Amethi are also proposed in the new budget.

The frequency of Agra Fort-Ahmedabad Express has been increased from 3 to 7 days; Gorakhpur-Ahmedabad Express from 1 to 2 days; Jhansi-Bandra (T) Express from 1 to 2 days and Kanpur-Jammu Tawi Express from 1 to 2 days.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus