Raj Thackeray's MLA, 15 others booked for attacking engineer

Raj Thackeray

A Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) legislator and 15 others were booked for rioting and attacking a civic body engineer at his office in suburban Ghatkopar, police said today.

The FIR was registered against MLA Ram Kadam and 15 others after a mob barged into the office of Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation's Deputy Engineer Mahesh Fad (36) at Ghatkopar yesterday, police said today.

Fad had led a to demolish an illegal construction in Bhatwaadi area.

Later, the officer was allegedly threatened by Kadam, who asked him not to go ahead with the drive, police said.

However, the engineer continued with the demolition and after a while, a group of people, including a woman Mangal Kamble, whose structure was demolished, threatened the engineer and threw water bottles and punching machine at him, police said.

The engineer, who got injured in the attack, approached the police station last evening, said Suresh Nirmal, Senior Inspector at Pant Nagar police station.

Nobody has been arrested so far; police said adding that further probe was on.

The legislator and others were booked under IPC sections 141 (Unlawful assembly), 147 (Punishment for rioting), 353 (Assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty), 332 (Voluntarily causing hurt to deter public servant from his duty), 336 (Act endangering life or personal safety of others), 452 (House-trespass alter preparation for hurt, assault or wrongful restraint), 504 (Intentional insult with intent to provoke breach of the peace) and 506 (Punishment for criminal intimidation), among others.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus