Rajasthan goes to polls tomorrow

All arrangements are in place for tomorrow's election to 199 Assembly seats in Rajasthan as over 4 crore electors are likely to exercise their franchise to decide the fate of 2,087 candidates, including Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and state BJP chief Vasundhara Raje.

The casting of votes at 47,223 polling stations across the state will begin at 8 PM and over 4.08 crore electors, including 1.92 crore women would exercise their franchise amid tight security, a Chief Election Office's advisor (PR) said.

Polling in Churu Assembly constituency, where nine candidates are in fray, has been postponed to December 13 following the death of BSP candidate Jagdish Meghwal.

There are 166 women and one eunuch in the fray. Congress and BJP have fielded 200 candidates each, BSP 195, CPI(M) 38, CPI 23, NCP 16, other parties 666 and Independents 758 (including Churu Assembly constituency).

Congress has fielded 31 fresh faces, 19 ministers, and 29 sitting MLAs. Gehlot is contesting from his home turf of Sardarpura seat in Jodhpur district against BJP's Rajput candidate Shambhu Singh Khetasar.

Vasundhara Raje will be giving tough time to Congress' woman NSUI leader and former MLA Meenakshi Chandrawat on the Jhalarapatan seat in Hadauti region.

PCC president Chandrabhan is facing a triangular contest with sitting MLA Rita Choudhary and BJP's Muslim candidate Saleem Tanwar from Mandwa seat.

Assembly Speaker Dipendra Singh Shekhawat will try his poll fortune from Srimadhopur seat against BJP candidate Jhabar Singh Khara.

Mamta Sharma, chairman of NCW, will face poll battle from her rival of BJP Ashok Dogra from Bundi seat. Commonwealth Games gold medallist Krishna Poonia is trying her fate against the sitting BJP woman MLA Kamla Baswa from Sadulpur Assembly seat.

Former minister and accused in infamous Bhanwari Devi murder case Mahipal Maderna's wife Leela Maderna, and his co-accused legislator Malkhan Singh Vishnoi's 82-year-old mother Amri Devi are also in the fray from Osian and Luni Assembly seats respectively.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.