Re-election to Youth Congress: Body yields repeat results

The re-election to the Chandigarh Territorial Youth Congress held on Saturday produced results almost similar to the election that had been declared null and void. Maninder Dhillon was elected the president of the Youth Congress with 288 votes polled in his favour.

A total of 525 votes were polled of the total 637. One vote was declared invalid. Harmail Kesri who polled 113 votes was named the vice-president. Kesri, an advocate by profession, was in 2010 the treasurer of the District Bar Association. Yadvinder Mehta with 47 votes, Amandeep Singh with 28 votes and Ankush Jolly with 27 votes were named general secretaries. Ravinder Lahot with 21 votes was elected general secretary in the Scheduled Caste category.

The elections to the Youth Congress were held on August 27 this year. A total of nine candidates contested the election for 10 posts. Of these, four were disqualified for not receiving even the bare minimum votes. While Maninder Dhillon had polled 322 votes, the elections were declared null and void by Foundation of Advanced Management of Elections (FAME). A complaint was moved against Dhillon stating that a case was pending against him in the court.

The case was recently quashed by the High Court. The members who had been elected as well as other leaders approached the party high command to not cancel the elections. However, a new date for the elections was declared.

The polling took place at the Congress Bhawan, Sector 35, in the morning. After the results were announced, the elected members visited the residence of Union Minister for Railways Pawan Kumar Bansal.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus