Ruling NPF contesting all 60 seats in Nagaland polls

The ruling Nagaland People's Front (NPF) is the only party which has put up candidates in all the 60-seats for the February 23 polls to the Nagaland Assembly.

Opposition Congress has put up the second largest number of candidates after the ruling NPF in 57 seats.

While the Bharitya Janata Party (BJP) has put up candidates in 11 seats, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has fielded 15 candidates in the electoral fray.

The Janata Dal (United) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has put up candidates in three and two seats respectively, while the United Naga Democratic Party (UNDP) has fielded candidate in only one seat.

After the NPF and the Congress, the Independents are the largest chunk of candidates with 39 Independent candidate in the fray for the February 23 polls.

A total of 188 candidates are contesting for the 60 seats of the Nagaland Assembly.

One-third of the seats or 20 seats will witness a straight contest with only two candidates in the fray.

The maximum number of candidates contesting from a constituency is six. Only two constituency Sanis and Bhandari will see six contestants contesting from the seat.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.