Sahitya Akademi honour for Jeet Thayil, 23 others

Booker-nominated Jeet Thayil and Bengali novelist Subrata Mukhopadhyaya were among 24 authors selected for this year's Sahitya Akademi Awards.

Twelve of the 24 awards went to works of poets, which included K Sachitandandan (Malayalam Marannu Vacha Vazhikal), the late Bal Krishna 'Bhaura' (Dogri Tim-Tim Karde Tare) and Makhan Lal Kanwal (Kashmiri Yath Aangnaz Manz).

Thayil, whose novel Narcopolis was shortlisted for Booker Prize, was selected for his poetry collection 'These Errors are Correct' in English.

The Akademi said 12 books of poetry, six short story collections, four novels and one each of autobiography and criticism were selected for the awards this year, two of them posthumously.

The awards were given to books first published between January 2008 and December 2010. The award carries Rs 1 lakh cash, engraved copper plaque and a shawl.

Among the poets, the other winners include Guneswar Musahary (Bodo Boro Khonthai), Chandrakant Devtale (Hindi Pathar Fenk Raha Hoon), H S Shivaprakash (Kannada Mabbina Haage Kabniveyassi) and Kashinath Shamba Lolienkar (Konkani Kavyasutra).

Aaidan Singh Bhatti (Rajasthani Aankh Hinye Ra Hariyal Sapana), Ramji Thakkura (Sanskrit Laghupadhyaprhbandhatrayi) and Krishna Kumar Toor (Urdu Ghurfa-I-Ghalib) are among other poets selected.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus