Shah, Anandiben in BJP’s jumbo poll campaign panel

Amit Shah

The BJP on Tuesday announced its 86-member election campaign committee to be headed by BJP's national vice-president Purshottam Rupala. The huge list includes former minister Amit Shah and prominent minister Anandiben Patel, both close to Chief Minister Narendra Modi.

Also in the panel are Ahmedabad Mayor Asit Vora, who will lead the campaign in Modi's Maninagar constituency, his deputy Darshana Vaghela and former Ahmedabad mayor Kanaji Thakor.

Sunil Oza, who rejoined BJP after quitting Gordhan Zadaphia's now dissolved MahaGujarat Janata Party, also figures in the list.

Former IPS officer A I Saiyed and former chief of BJP's minority morcha Sajjad Heera are two prominent Muslim faces in the list.

The panel also includes Dattaji Chirandas, a loyalist of Shankersinh Vaghela who returned to BJP.

Popular television actor-turned-politician Smriti Irani is also part of the panel, as is Finance Minister Vajubhai Vala. BJP general secretary Vijay Rupani is also part of the committee.

Controversial Junagadh MP Dinu Solanki, against whom family members of slain RTI activist Amit Jethava have levelled murder charges, also finds his name in the list.

BJP meet in Delhi today to select candidates

A parliamentary board meeting of BJP will be held in Delhi on Wednesday to finalise candidates for the first phase of polls scheduled on December 13, state BJP treasurer and former Rajya Sabha member Surendra Patel said, adding the list would likely be out in a few days.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.