Shankersinh Vaghela is new Congress Legislature Party leader


Former union minister Shankersinh Vaghela, who won from Kapadvanj in the December Assembly elections, was appointed leader of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) Tuesday.

GPCC president Arjun Modhwadia told The Indian Express that the appointment was made by the party and a communiqué in this regard was received by him after 10 pm.

Earlier today, a meeting of all the 59 Congress MLAs was held in the presence of central party observers — Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and party's Gujarat in-charge and general secretary Mohan Prakash — in Gandhinagar.

At the meeting, the MLAs had authorised AICC president Sonia Gandhi to take a final call on the candidate for the post, which was held by Shaktisinh Gohil in the previous Assembly.

Dikshit had talked to each of the MLAs separately and elicited their views about the CLP candidate. She told the media that she would submit her report to the party high command, who would appoint the CLP leader.

A former chief minister, Vaghela was the top contender for the post. Others having staked a claim to the post were Vitthal Radadiya and Mohansinh Rathwa.

While Vaghela could not be contacted, his son and Bayad MLA Mahendrasinh Vaghela said, "My father is ready for whatever responsibility is given to him by the party."

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.