Shiv Kapur 7th as five Indians make cut at Singapore Open

Shiv Kapur led a bunch of five Indians into the money rounds even as six others fell by the wayside at the Singapore Open, here.

Kapur (68) was four-under 138 and five stroke behind the leader Danish Thomas Bjorn (67).

The third round started a little later, but none of the golfers is likely to go beyond nine holes today despite the weather holding up till past 5 pm on Saturday raising hopes of a 72-hole event, unlike the truncated 54 holes last year.

Kapur (68) ploughed his way through hot and humid conditions even to play a full round at one stretch.

Five-under at one stage, he suffered a bogey on 16th to be 4-under 138 in tied seventh after 36 holes.

In the morning, SSP Chowrasia (69) and Anirban Lahiri (68) negotiated the remaining holes from Friday's partial appearance in second round to reach 36 holes in three-under 139 and in tied 11th place.

Also making the cut were Gaganjeet Bhullar, playing his 11th week in a row, and Jyoti Randhawa. Bhullar was two-under 140 and tied 21st and Randhawa struggled through 72 to be one-under 141 in tied 36th place.

Himmat Rai (69-75) slumped to a triple on par-4 sixth but at that stage he also had two birdies. On the back nine, he had three bogeys and no birdies to finish two-over and crash out as the cut fell at one-over 143.

Chiragh Kumar (73-72) missed the cut and so did Shamim Khan (73-73) and Digvijay Singh (74-73). Rashid Khan retired after first round and Jeev Milkha Singh withdrew because of injury.

Big Dane Thomas Bjorn added 67 to his first 66, despite going through a full day without golf in between. He leads by two over George Coetzee (72-63) and Chris Wood (70-65).

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.