Spot-fixing: PIL filed in Supreme Court wants stay on IPL 2013 matches

SreesanthThe petition sought a stay on remaining four matches including final match of the IPL. PTI

A PIL has been filed today in the Supreme Court seeking setting up of a Special Investigation Team (SIT) to probe spot fixing and other alleged irregularities in IPL 2013, apart from a stay on remaining matches.

The petitioner, a Lucknow resident, has made all IPL franchises and BCCI party in the case along with the Centre.

"There are many irregularities in the IPL beginning from auction of players. Black money and money from anti-social elements are involved in the IPL which needs to be probed," advocate Vishnu Jain, who filed the petition, said.

The petition sought a stay on remaining four matches including final match of the IPL till the probe is completed.

Jain field the petition on behalf of one Sudarsh Awasthi who claims to be an architect.

IPL last week found itself engulfed in a sensational spot-fixing scandal after Indian paceman S Sreesanth and two of his Rajasthan Royals teammates - Ajit Chandila and Ankeet Chavan - were arrested by the Delhi Police which claimed that the trio received up to Rs 60 lakh from bookies for bowling manipulated overs.

BCCI's Anti-Corruption and Security Unit chief Ravi Sawani, who is also heading the commission of inquiry into the allegations against the three players, met senior Delhi Police officials today.

"I had a very useful meeting with the Delhi Commissioner of Police," he said after the meeting.

"The BCCI has assured him of cooperation in the case. I also told him of Rajasthan Royals' intention to file an FIR in the case," he added.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.