N Srinivasan in driver's seat for one more year

N SrinivasanNo surprises at the BCCI AGM as N Srinivasan gets his way, Ranjib Biswal named IPL chairman (PTI)

N Srinivasan will continue to be the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president for one more year. At the board's annual general meeting (AGM) held on his home turf on Sunday, Srinivasan was elected unopposed.

However, given a Supreme Court ruling related to a case that questioned his candidature, he won't be able to exercise his powers officially. Till the time Srinivasan gets a court clearance, secretary Sanjay Patel will look after the board's affairs.

Related: Rajiv Shukla one of new vice-presidents

"We haven't appointed an interim president as we will wait and see what happens in the Supreme Court. Not just Srinivasan, there was a consensus on the name of all office-bearers," Patel said.

But insiders insist that the BCCI isn't quite the happy and harmonious house it seems to be on the surface. It is learned that a small section within the board isn't too pleased with Srinivasan's re-election.

Related: Cricket will remain our top priority, says Srinivasan

This group consists of men who had questioned, somewhat mildly, Srinivasan's position in the BCCI after the Mumbai Police named his son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan in the IPL spot-fixing scandal. While the then secretary Sanjay Jagdale and treasurer Ajay Shirke resigned, others such as Niranjan Shah, Sudhir Dabir and Jyotiraditya Scindia were not too impressed with Srinivasan's stubbornness to hold on to the top job. As expected, all of these long-standing officials were kept away from important positions in various committees or the executive board.

Rich rewards for South

Meanwhile, Srinivasan rewarded the loyalists who stood by him. The South Zone, which proposed and seconded his name for the president on Sunday and didn't get swayed by any potential challenger, was richly compensated. Kerala Cricket Association's TC Mathew was appointed as chairman of the National Cricket Academy (NCA) while Ganga Raju of Andhra Cricket Association was named chairman of the powerful finance committee.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus