Stage set for grand ceremony

A stage having three sections will welcome guests at the Sardar Patel cricket stadium in Navrangpura area of the city where Narendra Modi will take oath as the Chief Minister of Gujarat for the fourth consecutive time on Wednesday.

The stage has been divided into three parts. The stage at centre will have seating arrangement for Modi, Governor Kamla Beniwal, the Secretary to the Governor and the Chief Secretary.

A seating arrangement for 95 VIPs and VVIPs forms the second part, where the front rows will be occupied by all the chief ministers and senior BJP leaders.

CMs like Parkash Singh Badal (Punjab), J Jayalalithaa (Tamil Nadu), Shivraj Singh Chauhan (MP), Raman Singh (Chhattisgarh), Arjun Munda (Jharkhand) and Manohar Parrikar (Goa) are expected to attend the event.

According to sources, brand ambassador of Gujarat Tourism Amitabh Bachchan is also expected to be at the venue.

The remaining rows will be reserved for other senior politicians and industrialists, while the third part will accommodate religious leaders.

"As per the current planning, there is no grand entry for Narendra Modi. Once all the dignitaries are seated, Modi will enter the stage. After meeting all the guests on both the sides of the main stage, he will take his seat and proceed for the swearing-in ceremony," said a senior GAD official who was present at the site.

The ceremony is expected to last 15-20 minute, after which Modi will take a round of the the stadium in a vehicle.

Ten multi-camera sets installed within the stadium will capture the ceremony and will beam it to four giant screens which are coming up in and around the stadium complex that has a capacity of 29,500. Over 12,000 BJP workers and office-bearers are expected to attend the ceremony.

As per plans, the ceremony will be telecast live in the different parts of the city, official sources said, adding that LED screens are planned to be installed at Law Garden, AMC Market (Navrangpura), Vastrapur Lake, Sabarmati Riverfront, Vijay Chowk (Bapunagar) and Memco Sports Complex.

Live telecast

As many as 30 national and regional channels from across the country have sought permission for live coverage of the event. An equal number of OB vans will be stationed in the sports club parking lot. Around 250 camera-persons are expected to be present at the stadium.

Tight security

The venue has been turned into a fortress for the event where Bollywood personalities like Hema Malini, Vivek Oberoi, Paresh Rawal and Manoj Joshi, among others will remain present.

As many as 200 personnel of the State Reserve Police Force and over 1,000 home guards will man the stadium. "We have ensured tight security for the ceremony with constant checks in and around the stadium. Armed personnel have been deployed to keep a watch on movements," said DCP (Zone I) Neeraj Badgujar.

The Ahmedabad police have conducted anti-sabotage checks while Anti-Terrorism Squad and CHETAK commandos are patrolling in and around the venue.

The Traffic Police has made several diversions around the stadium. Major traffic has been diverted towards the railway crossing and special parking lots have been created for VVIPs, VIPs and a common parking between Navrangpura, Ellisbridge, Wadaj to GMDC Grounds.

Manual video-recording of all the movement at the stadium is being done at the entry gate. Apart from the main gate, all the other five gates remained closed with police deployment.

The guests

BJP leaders L K Advani, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Dr Murli Manohar Joshi

Chief ministers Parkash Singh Badal (Punjab),

J Jayalalithaa (Tamil Nadu), Shivraj Singh Chauhan (Madhya Pradesh), Raman Singh (Chhattisgarh),

Arjun Munda (Jharkhand), Manohar Parrikar (Goa)

Deputy CM of Bihar Sushil Kumar Modi

TV personalities Hema Malini, Vivek Oberoi, Smriti Irani and Navjot Singh Sindhu

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.