Star cricketers to take part in inaugural T-20 tournament from February 26

Ahead of the Indian Premiere League (IPL), renowned cricketers like Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Saurabh Tiwary, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik, JP Yadav, Wasim Jaffer etc will be seen in action during the first edition of All India T-20 cricket tournament organised by GD Sharma Memorial Cricket Society to be held from February 26 to March 3 at different venues in Chandigarh, Panchkula and Barwala. The tournament will be conducted under the aegis of Panchkula District Cricket Association. Speaking to the mediapersons during a press conference, secretary of PDCA, Sandeep Moudgil said, "Eminent teams from all over India will be taking part in the tournament. The concept of organising such sort of tournament is to promote the sport and bring forward talented cricketers. The winning team will bag cash prize of Rs Two Lakh while the runners-up team will purse Rs One Lakh.

As many as eight teams from all over the country will compete in the tournament that will be played on league-cum-knockout basis. The matches will be played in the T-20 format. The teams will be divided in two pools and top two teams from each pool will qualify fro the semifinals. The teams namely Air India, Indian Oil, BSNL, CAG, State Bank of Patiala, India Cements, FCI and Delhi Cricket Club will be seen in action. A total of 16 matches including the final will be played over a span of six days. The matches will be played under floodlights with coloured dresses.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.