Subhash Joshi new BSF chief, Ajay Chadha to head ITBP

Subhash Joshi was on Tuesday appointed as the new chief of Border Security Force (BSF) while Special Secretary in Home Ministry Ajay Chadha would now head the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP).

Joshi, who is at present Director General of elite National Security Guard, will lead the 1.8 lakh strong border force BSF as the post had fallen vacant on December 1 due to retirement of U K Bansal.

A 1976 batch IPS officer from Uttrakhand cadre, Joshi is due to retire in February 2014. He has also served in CRPF as Special Director General of Police.

In another appointment cleared by Appointments Committee of Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Chadha, Special Secretary (Internal Security), has been appointed as Director General of ITBP.

A 1977 batch IPS officer of AGMU cadre, Chadha will have a tenure till August next year. The post had fallen vacant after Ranjit Sinha was appointed as Director of CBI.

Special Director General of BSF Arvind Ranjan has been appointed as Director General, National Security Guard (NSG).

Ranjan is a 1977 batch IPS officer of Kerala and has service till April 2015.

All the appointments will be effective from the dates these officers assume charge of their posts and till their superannuation or until further orders, whichever event takes place earlier, an official order said.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.