Talwar defeats Desai to enter last 32 stage

Second seed Sumit Talwar of Chandigarh brushed aside the challenge from Maharashtra's Sagar Desai to enter the round of 32 in the men's 8-ball event of the NSCI-National Pool Championship today.

Talwar, who last year finished runner-up to Alok Kumar of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board, registered a comfortable 6-2 victory in the race to six racks round of 64 contest at the National Sports Club of India, Worli.

Dharminder Lilly of Punjab and Siddharth Parikh of Railways Sports Promotion Board also won their respective ties by identical 6-2 margins to join Talwar in the next round. Lilly tamed Maharashtra's Prashant Mhatre, while Parikh sidelined Hasneet Singh of Haryana. Delhi teenager Nitesh Madan held his nerves to make it to the next round.

In a match of fluctuating fortunes in which the lead changed hands several times, the 19-year-old Delhi cueist pulled off a deserving 6-4 win over Maharashtra's Jaiveer Dhingra. In the closest-fought clash of the day, Deepak Kumar of Punjab almost threw away the match before clinching a 6-5 win over Rishit Jain of Delhi.

Kumar opened up with a 5-1 lead before losing his concentration. He allowed his opponent to draw level at 5-5 but could regain his composure just in time to win the crucial sixth rack to seal the match in his favour.


Men's 8-ball (Round of 64): Sumit Talwar (Chd) beat Sagar Desai (Mah) 6-2, Shivam Arora (Bih) beat Ish Bawa (Mah) 6-3, Deepak Kumar (Pub) beat Rishit Jain (Dli) 6-5, Varun Kumar (TN) beat Aarpeet Seth (Chd) 6-4, Siddharth Parikh (RSPB) beat Hasneet Singh (Har) 6-2, Nitesh Madan (Dli) beat Jaiveer Dhingra (Mah) 6-4, Rishabh Pandya (Mah) beat Vishal Mor (Mah) 6-3, Dharminder Lilly (Pub) beat Prashant Mhatre (Mah) 6-2, B Balaji Reddy (Kar) beat Amon Goel (Har) 6-2,

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.