Talwar strikes down Sagar

Second seed Sumit Talwar of Chandigarh brushed aside the challenge from Maharashtra's Sagar Desai to progress to the round of 32 in the men's 8-ball competition, of the NSCI-National Pool Championship.

Talwar, who finished runner-up to Alok Kumar of PSPB (Petroleum Sports Promotion Board) last year, eased to a comfortable 6-2 victory in the race to six racks, round of 64 contest at the National Sports Club of India, Worli on Monday.

Dharminder Lilly of Punjab and Siddharth Parikh of Railways Sports Promotion Board, both also won their respective matches by an identical 6-2 margin to join Talwar in the next round. Lilly tamed Maharashtra's Prashant Mhatre, while Parikh sidelined Hasneet Singh of Haryana.

Meanwhile, Delhi teenager Nitesh Madan held his nerves to make it to the next round. In a match of fluctuating fortunes in which the lead changed hands several times, the 19-year-old Delhi cueist pulled off a deserving 6-4 victory.

In the most exciting match of the day, Deepak Kumar of Punjab almost threw away his advantage before clinching a 6-5 win over Rishit Jain of Delhi. Kumar started off with a flourish and quickly raced to a 5-1 lead. But, thereafter, he seemed to have lost his concentration and allowed his opponent to draw level at 5-5.

However, he regained his composure and managed to win the crucial sixth rack to seal the match in his favour.


Men's 8-ball (round of 64): Sumit Talwar (Chd) bt Sagar Desai (Mah) 6-2, Shivam Arora (Bih) bt Ish Bawa (Mah) 6-3, Deepak Kumar (Pub) bt Rishit Jain (Dli) 6-5, Varun Kumar (TN) bt Aarpeet Seth (Chd) 6-4, Siddharth Parikh (RSPB) bt Hasneet Singh (Har) 6-2, Nitesh Madan (Dli) bt Jaiveer Dhingra (Mah) 6-4, Rishabh Pandya (Mah) bt Vishal Mor (Mah) 6-3, Dharminder Lilly (Pub) bt Prashant Mhatre (Mah) 6-2; B Balaji Reddy (Kar) bt Amon Goel (Har) 6-2, Arun Kumar VN (Mah) bt Abhishek Soparkar (Mah) 6-1, Dilip Kumar (RSPB) bt Rovin D'Souza (Mah) 6-1, Shabaaz Khan (PSPB) bt Suyash Moorpana (Dli) 6-2, Lalsangzela (Miz) 6-0, Hasan Badami (Mah) bt Neeraj Kumar (RSPB) 6-5, Devendra Joshi (PSPB) bt Alam Sheikh (Mah) 6-1, Divya Sharma (Har) bt Jay Jhaveri (Mah) 6-2, Lalrina Renthlel (Miz) bt Anupam Jha (Bih) 6-5, Kabil Badami (Mah) bt Raju Shah (Mah) 6-4, Sumeet Devgan (Mah) bt Mahesh Jagdale (Mah) 6-0, Bunty Retra (Dli) bt Amit Yadav (Pub) 6-1, J. Ganesh (Rly) bt K S Naveen Kumar (Kar) 6-4, Manan Chandra (PSPB) bt Pratamesh Sawant (Mah) 6-3.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.