Telangana now a reality, Congress agrees to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh

TelanganaThe decision to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh and create Telangana was taken after marathon meetings on Tuesday.

New Delhi: After years of protests and struggle, the proposal for a separate state for Telangana and the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh on Tuesday got the approval of the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) coordination committee and the Congress Working Committee (CWC).

Highlights: CWC clears Telangana, Hyderabad to be joint capital for now

It has been decided that Telangana will comprise 10 districts and Hyderabad will remain the joint capital of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh for 10 years. After this period, a suitable place will be identified to be the capital of the Seemandhra region.

Telangana: Either way, UPA has little to gain now

The official announcement in this regard was made by senior Congress leader Ajay Maken and party general secretary and Andhra Pradesh in-charge Digvijaya Singh following a day of marathon meetings in the national capital.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy was also in the national capital throughout the day wherein he held meeting with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Congress president Sonia Gandhi. Meanwhile, both Sonia and Manmohan also held discussions on the issue before the UPA coordination committee and and CWC took the issue for consideration.

The real process began shortly after 4 pm when the UPA coordination committee met at the residence of the Prime Minister to discuss the issue of Telangana statehood. The meeting went on for around an hour, during which the proposal for a separate Telangana state was cleared unanimously by the allies of the Congress party.

Following the meeting of the UPA coordination panel, both Prime Minister and the Congress president met the Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and asked him to not resign in protest against a separate Telangana.

Then began the most crucial meeting of the day, that of the Congress Working Committee, shortly after 5.30 pm. Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde, Finance Minister P Chidambaram, party general secretary Digvijaya Singh and Ghulam Nabi Azad attended the meeting.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.