Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi, Hyderabad, Bangalore airports to get Visa-on-Arrival facility

VisaVoA facility is currently operational at 4 international airports in Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai. (Reuters)

Visa-on-Arrival facility for tourists will now be available at four more international airports across the country, besides the four existing metro cities.

"The Home Ministry has issued orders extending Visa-on-Arrival (VoA) facility to four more airports at Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi, Hyderabad and Bangalore with effect from August 15," said a senior Tourism Ministry official.

Currently, the VoA facility is operational at four international airports in Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai.

It was decided earlier at the third inter-ministerial coordination committee meeting to extend the facility of tourist Visa on Arrival (VoA) at these airports, said the official.

Visitors from 11 countries including Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Vietnam, Cambodia, the Philippines and Myanmar are eligible to get VoA facility.

The visa-on-arrival scheme has contributed to an increase in the number of tourists from these countries and the government was in the final stages of consultations on allowing the facility to citizens of another 10 countries, including Germany, France and Russia, said the official.

The Miinistry has set a target of attracting 12 million international tourists by 2016.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.