Tiny Anya makes a big splash

Eight-year-old Anya Tyagi made heads turn with a spectacular effort of three gold including two new meet records, while arch-rivals Viraj Prabhu and Jason Smith shared the honours with two new meet records each, in the 35th Bombay YMCA Inter School & Junior College Swimming Championship 2012 at the YMCA Swimming Pool, Mumbai Central. Hiranandani Foundation's Anya Tyagi set the pool ablaze with new meet marks in the girls' under-9 50m freestyle and 50m butterfly in quick succession, before winning the 50m backstroke gold. In the process, last year's individual champion Anya pushed arch-rivals Kenisha Gupta, of Fazlani L'Academie Globale school, Mazagaon and Saee Patil of Bal Mohan Vidya Mandir to second and third place, respectively, in all three events that triggered an intense battle for supremacy.

Viraj Prabhu and Jason Smith renewed their rivalry as the former from Fr. Agnel's Multitpurpose School, Vashi set new marks in the boys under-15 100m freestyle and 100m breaststroke. Prabhu left Smith far behind in second place in the freestyle, while forcing him to settle for the bronze in the breaststroke.

Results: Boys U-15: 100m freestyle: 1. Viraj Prabhu (Fr. Agnel's, Vashi) 0.55.95 (NMR); 2. Jason Smith (Beacon High) 0.59.18; 3. Gaurav Kadam (Fr. Agnel's) 01.03.08. Boys U-15: 100m breaststroke: 1. Viraj Prabhu (Fr. Agnel's) 01.11.31 (NMR); 2. Manari Shah (Bombay Scottish) 01.16.96; 3. Jason Smith (Beacon High) 01.17.29. Boys U-15: 100m backstroke: 1. Jason Smith (Beacon High) 01.05.55; 2. Viraj Prabhu (Fr. Agnel's) 01.10.77; 3. Manari Shah (Bombay Scottish) 01.13.81. Boys U-15: 100m butterfly: 1. Jason Smith (Beacon High) 01.03.78 (NMR); 2. Viraj Prabhu (Fr. Agnel's) 01.05.38 (BMR); 3. Gaurav Kadam ( Fr. Agnel's) 01.13.82.Boys U-15: 200m Ind. Medley: 1. Jason Smith (Beacon High) 2.21.61 (NMR); 2. Viraj Prabhu (Fr. Agnel's) 2.24.22 (BMR); 3. Gaurav Kadam (Fr. Agnel's) 2.42.06. Girls U-9: 50m freestyle: 1. Anya Tyagi (Hiranandani Foundation) 0.32.88 (NMR); 2. Kenisha Gupta (Fazlani) 0.34.11; 3. Saee Patil (Bal Mohan Vidya Mandir) 0.35.20. Girls U-9: 50m butterfly: 1. Anya Tyagi (Hiranandani Foundation) 0.36.66 (NMR); 2. Kenisha Gupta (Fazlani) 0.37.69; 3. Saee Patil (Bal Mohan Vidya Mandir) 0.38.81. Girls U-9: 50m backstroke: 1. Anya Tyagi (Hiranandani Foundation) 0.40.58; 2. Kenisha Gupta (Fazlani) 0.41.92; 3. Saee Patil (Bal Mohan Vidya Mandir) 0.42.15. Girls U-9: 50m breaststroke: 1. Kenisha Gupta (Fazlani) 0.43.05 (NMR); 2. Payal Sheieao (Apeejay School) 0.45.30; 3. Saee Patil (Bal Mohan Vidya Mandir) 0.46.78. Girls U-7: 25m freestyle: 1. Sanjiti Saha (Bai Avabai J. Petit) 0.17.31 (NMR); 2. Palak Dhami (Shishuvan English) 0.17.42 (BMR); 3. Nishka Mehta (J.B. Vachha) 01.18.37.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.