Tripura sets record of highest-ever 93% voting in country

Tripura polls

As a measure to increase the poll percentage of employees on poll duty, the Election Commission had made special arrangement for recording postal ballot at the polling stations itself.

Shukla said this is the first time such "facilitation" for postal ballot was made by ECI. "This helped in recording 95.6 per cent polling through postal ballot of employees on poll duty," he said, adding that a total of 46,000 employees were deputed on poll duty.

Chief Minister Manik Sarkar cast his vote at a booth in Umakanta School in Ramnagar constituency represented by him.

Manik Sarkar, Finance Minister Badal Chowdhury, Higher Education minister Anil Sarkar, TPCC president Sudip Ray Barman, former chief minister Samir Ranjan Burman and President of the Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura Bijay Hrankhwal were among 249 candidates from 16 political parties whose fate was sealed in the EVMs.

CPI-M, the dominant partner in the LF, contested 55 seats, RSP two and CPI two and Forward Bloc one. Congress contested 48 seats and its alliance partners INPT in 11 and National Conference of Tripura in one.

250 companies of central paramilitary forces were deployed to maintain law and order. The BSF had sealed the 856 km-long border with Bangladesh and deployed additional forces to prevent infiltration.

A total of 30 general observers, 10 expenditure observers, eight awareness observers and eight police observers were appointed for ensuring the conduct of smooth and fair elections in the state.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.