Two MSRDC officials visit Eway mishap spots, meet with accident


Two senior officers of the Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation (MSRDC) on Friday visiting accident-prone spots on the Pune-Mumbai Expressway to take stock of preventive measures, themselves met with an accident near the Kamshet tunnel around 5.15pm.

MSRDC chief engineer Arun Deodhar and executive engineer A P Abrol received minor injuries in the accident.

Dilip Bhujbal, superintendent of state highway police said the two MSRDC officials were visiting the accident prone spots on the Pune-Mumbai Expressway, when, close to Pavana police chowki near Kamshet tunnel, a four-wheeler crashed into their car.

Bhujbal said the mishap was a minor one. The officers received minor injuries. They were taken to a local hospital and discharged after first aid. The driver of their car, Arvind Suryawanshi, lodged an offence with Kamshet police.

Steps are being taken by the state government to prevent mishaps on the Eway following major road accidents that claimed several lives in the last couple of months. Five persons were killed in a road mishap near Pavana police chowki on the Expressway on January 28 morning.

The same evening, three including actor Bhalchandra Kadam were injured in another mishap near Kamshet on the Expressway. Marathi actors Anand Abhyankar and Akshay Pendse and Pendse's son Pratyush died in a road mishap on December 23, close to these spots.

Following a series of road mishaps, Home Minister R R Patil visited the accident spots on January 29 and said steps would be taken to prevent accidents and one of them was to increase the height of road medians as early as possible.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus