UP fail to force result, get lone point

Uttar Pradesh could not do enough on the final day to win the match, and the 49-run first innings lead they conceded to Haryana the previous day meant that the side had to be content with one point. Despite the result, the hosts remain top of the group while Haryana, with the three points from the game, moved off the foot of Group B.

UP resumed at an overnight score 217/4 in 82 overs and had to score quick runs and give themselves enough time to bowl Haryana out if they were to gain more than the one point from the game. The first of the objectives were achieved mainly through the efforts of Eklavya Dwivedi and Parvinder Singh. Eklavya, who began on 51, scored his maiden first-class century while Parvinder Singh gave him able support with 64.

The latter was the first to go, caught behind off Joginder Sharma in the 98th over, but not before adding 146 for the fifth wicket. Eklavya was run out in the 108th over and Harshal Patel ran through the tail as UP folded for 348 in 118 overs.

Improbable target

Haryana was set an improbable target of 300 in a maximum of 56 overs, but UP could probably be accused of batting a little too long.

In the second innings, Haryana lost just three wickets in 43 overs, making 106, before the game was called off. The visitors made safe their three points with opener Nitin Saini scoring 68 runs off 113 balls which included eight fours and a six. UP's decision could also be explained by the fact that they had to miss the services of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Suresh Raina after tea, as the duo had to catch a flight to Mumbai in order to report for the Indian T20 team.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.