Vadodara to Surat, BJP retains urban grip after Gujarat Assembly poll results declared

The BJP has retained its urban citadels — in Rajkot, Vadodara, Surat and Ahmedabad — and improved its count in some of these districts.

In Vadodara city, the party managed to retain all five seats, including two new ones — Akota and Manjalpur — that were added after delimitation.

These five were out of 10 that the BJP won in a district that has 13 seats. The BJP total is an improvement from the seven it had won in 2007. Of the three seats that the party lost, the Savli seat was won by Ketan Inamdar, who fought as an Independent after the BJP had denied him a ticket, while the reserved Sankeda-ST and the Chotta Udaepur seat went to the Congress.

In Surat, the BJP won 14 of 16 seats. This too is a marked improvement from the seven of 12 seats the party won in 2007 (when Surat and Tapi were undivided).

In Ahmedabad district, the BJP gained four seats — 17 from 13 — since the previous election, when the district had 20 seats to this election's 21.

The BJP lost in Viramgam and Dariapur. Both went to the Congress with Dr Tejasvi Patel and Gyasuddin Shaikh winning from Viramgam and Dariapur respectively. In Ahmedabad city, the Congress lost Jamalpur, a seat it had held, to the BJP, with Bhushan Bhatt defeating Samirkhan Sipai.

In Rajkot district, the BJP lost one from its 2007 tally of seven. The major loss is in Rajkot city itself, where it lost the urban seat of Rajkot East, carved out from the old constituency of Rajkot-I. Here, Congress candidate Indranil Rajyaguru defeated the BJP's Kashup Shukla, son of RSS veteran Chiman Shukla, by around 4,000 votes. However, the BJP won another new urban seat, Rajkot South.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.