Vijay Hazare Trophy: Gujarat spinners destroy Mumbai

Mumbai batsmen had no answer to Akshar Patel and Jesal Karia as they folded up for a paltry 132.

The duo of Akshar Patel and Jesal Karia wreaked havoc on the Mumbai batting line-up as the storied team from Maharashtra's capital folded up rather meekly against a youthful Gujarat side. Gujarat also picked up a bonus point for their commanding display in their second game of the West Zone qualifying group for the Vijay Hazare trophy.

Mumbai opted to rest skipper Ajit Agarkar for the game but the side was in for a rude shock as they were dismissed for 132 in just 37.1 overs. Patel scalped four wickets for 24 runs while Karia picked up three for 21.

What made the Mumbai's surrender all the more mystifying was that the openers stitched a 72-run partnership before losing all ten wickets for just 50 more runs.

The 19-year-old Patel playing only his sixth List A match, got the ball to turn and dip sharply on the Mumbai batsmen who had no answer to his guile. The Poona Club pitch aided the spinners as the ball turned quite a bit and also some uneven bounce unsettled the batsmen.

Wasim Jaffer was the first to go as he was castled by Mehul Patel for 30. Shoaib Sheikh, who had scored an important half-century in the previous match, had no answer to Akshar Patel's sharp turn as his weak prod took the edge and was gobbled up by Parthiv Patel behind the stumps.

Karia from the other end, snapped up Sushant Marathe as a the batsmen was too slow to react to a quicker one from Karia as the ball slammed into the pad. Suryakumar Yadav was the next to go as his attempt at driving a good length ball only ended in an edge to the bowler.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.