VPM emerge overall athletics champions

Thanks to their boys and girls in the under-20,under-18,under-16, who cornered majority of gold, silver and brone medals, VMP (Dahisar), garnered 171 points to bag the overall championships in the Mumbai Suburban District Athletic Championships, held at Sports Authority of India Sports Complex at Kandivali (East).

The next best were Sports Authority of India and St. Stanislaus, both finished with 65 points, to be declared joint runners-up.

To top among 1500 participants from 80 odd institutions/colleges/schools, speaks volumes about the strides the Dahisar club has made over the years, producing a number of state level boys and girls champions. However the star performer of the meet was Sushmita Patil, from the Vissanji Sports Academy, who was the only athlete to claim a double, winning the 200 m and the 400m events in the girls under-16 events.

Such was VPM's domination in the meet that they also carried home the girls Peter Rodrigues trophy, notching up 86 points while St.Anthony School with 37 points finished second best. The corresponding honours in the boys' section went to St.Stanislaus school, who aggregated 65 points, while Lokhandwala Foundation with 35 were runners-up.


100m: (Girls U-16): 1. Shweta Hakke (VPM, Dahisar) 12.7 secs. 2. Shriya Kolge (VPM, Dahisar ) 12.9 secs. (Girls U-18): 1. Mamta Hulke (Prabhodhan) 12.6 secs; 2. Anuja Nayak (Dr. Naravane's) 16.7 secs. (Boys U-16): 1. Aarush Mehta (Lokhandwala Foundation) 11.9 secs. 2. Lennox D'Almeida (St. Anne's) 12.1 secs. (Boys U-18): 1. Rohan Rewale (VPM, Dahisar) 11.7 secs; 2. Mohnish Poojary (Mateshwari SF) 11.8 secs. (Boys U-20) 1. Nikhil Kadam (VPM, Dahisar) 11.2 secs; 2. Akshay Patil (Savio SC) 11.8 secs. (MEN): Deepak Karde (SAI) 11.4 secs; 2.Sahil Hamirani (VPM, Dahisar) 11.5 secs. 3000m: (Girls U-18): 1. Seeta Chavan (Dr. Naravane's Spt Aca) 12.27.1 secs; 2. Jyoti Panjabi (Dr.Naravan's) 12.39.0secs. (Boys U-18): 2. Anil Yadav (SAI) 9:34.9 secs; 2. Omkar Jadhav (Nandeep) 11:46.2 secs. (Boys U-16): 1. Mayur Bhivara (St. Stanislaus ) 10:31.6 secs; 2. Saurabh Bhandari (Dr.Naravane's) 10: 34.5 secs. 5000m: (Boys U-20): 1. Pravin Khambal (Dr. Naravane's) 16:16.2 secs; 2. Parwachan Goud (SAI) 16:22.4 secs. 400m Hurdles: (Boys U-18): 1. Suchit Sawant (Prabodhan) 66.40 secs; 2. Pradeep Yadav (Mateshwari SF) 61.61 secs.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.