West Assembly bypolls: Congress retains Rejinagar seat, loses Nalhati

Bengal bypoll

Congress, Trinamool Congress and Left Front shared honours in the crucial by-poll to three Assembly constituencies in West Bengal today.

The Congress took a sweet revenge by defeating its former MLA Humayan Kabir, who is now a TMC minister in the state government, from Rejinagar seat in Murshidabad district.

The election results served a blow to the TMC which stood third in Nalhati in Birbhum district and Rejinagar in Murshidabad district, both of which the ruling party has expected to win.

Congress candidate Rabiul Alam Choudhury won from Rejinagar constituency against his nearest rival Left Front candidate Sirajul Islam Mandal by a margin of 11,722 seats.

LF candidate Dipak Chatterjee won from Nalhati in Birbhum district over Congress' Abdur Rahman by a margin of 7,742 votes.

TMC's Biplab Ojha also stood third in the Nalhati Assembly by poll.

The saving grace for Trinamool Congress was, however, its win from English Bazar in Malda district when its minister Krishnendu Narayan Choudhury won by a margin of 20,452 votes over Kaushik Mishra of the Left front.

During the 2011 Assembly elections, Congress had won all the three seats when it had an alliance with the TMC.

But after Congres and Trinamool parted ways over FDI in retail, both the parties decided to fight polls separately.

The Nalhati Assembly seat fell vacant after its MLA Abhijit Mukherjee, son of President Pranab Mukherjee, quit his seat to fight the Lok Sabha by-election from Jangipur.

Elections to English Bazar and Rejinagar seats were necessitated by resignation of Congress MLAs Krishnendu Choudhury and Humayun Kabir following their switch-over to the TMC.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus