Where it is likely to go down to the wire

DelhiPolling personnel busy with preparations in the capital on Tuesday. Ravi Kanojia

The traditional Congress versus BJP fight has been altered by the entry of the Aam Aadmi Party. All eyes are on this third party, with many wondering whether it will play spoiler or win some seats. Of the 70 seats that make up the Delhi House, the contest is expected to be very keen at 25 places, where the fights are mostly triangular. Newsline does a quick scan<\i>

New Delhi

Total number of voters: 1,24,035

Sheila Dikshit (INC) vs Arvind Kejriwal (AAP) vs Vijender Gupta (BJP)

* The Chief Minister takes on the untested AAP's Arvind Kejriwal and former state BJP president Vijender Gupta. Kejriwal and Dikshit had to canvass for their parties across the city while Gupta had time to concentrate only on New Delhi.


Total number of voters: 2,35,966

Asif Mohammad Khan (INC) vs

Dhir Singh Bidhuri (BJP) vs Brahm Singh (BSP)

* The Okhla seat has always witnessed keen contests because of the cross-section of voters there from industrialists to students to farmers. Bidhuri has set his sights on the farmer votes while Brahm Singh is counting on Gujjar votes. Sitting MLA Asif Mohammad Khan switched from the RJD to Congress.

RK Puram

Total number of voters: 1,33,102

Barkha Singh (INC) vs Anil Kumar Sharma (BJP) vs Shazia Ilmi (AAP) vs Dhiraj Kumar Tokas (BSP)

* Barkha Singh defeated her BJP rival by almost 10,000 votes in 2008. But this year, a four-way contest has complicated matters. Main challengers Anil Sharma and AAP's Shaziya Ilmi (who took a hit after a sting that her party claimed had been doctored) have focussed on local issues, especially women's safety. BSP's Dhiraj Tokas, one of the richest candidates in the fray, has a large, loyal Jat votebank.


Total number of voters: 1,89,128

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus