Whiff of freshness in the air

The freshness in the air was quite palpable even though the Sector 10 tennis stadium had nothing new about it. The freshness had more to do with the new batch of CHART trainees from Haryana who enthralled the spectators with their talent and zeal. Leading the march was young and energetic Krishna Hooda who breezed into the final qualifying round of boy's u-12 category in the CLTA-AITA Talent Series tennis tournament being held at the CLTA Stadium in Sector 10 on Saturday.

Hooda was confidence personified as he made short work of Devansh Kakkar, 8-4, in the second round to move ahead. Blessed with powerful forehand and endless energy to cover the court, Hooda never looked in trouble and dominated over his opponent throughout the match. Similarly, Naresh Badgujjar announced his arrival with a bang as he upset eighth seed Arjun Brar, 8-4, to saunter ahead. Rohit Malik got the better of Kamal Saksham, 8-3, to move to the finals. In the girl's u-12 singles, Ravita Rawat, a CHART trainee, moved to the final following an easy 8-4 victory over another CHART trainee Arti Nayan.

In the girl's Under-16 first round, out of the 16 matches, only two were played while the other players got byes to the next round. Among those two who won their respective matches were Mahima Negi and Ibadat Kaur. Mahima registered a comprehensive 8-3 win over Sirina Kalia while Ibadat prevailed over Shamita Yadav, 8-5.


Boys U-12 First Round: Ishaan Kaushik BYE, Abhi Walia BYE, Kamal Saksham bt. Raghav Singh 8-0, Manvir Sohi BYE, Dhruv Tangri bt. Chetanbir S. Kookena 8-3, Rohan Mittal bt. Snehal Saini 8-1, Jaishvin Sidana bt. Parnay Sharma 8-1, Abhay Mohan BYE, Jasmol Arora bt. Sherman Singh 8-2, Amitoj Singh BYE, Vikramaditya Kedian bt. Gurjosh Singh 8-1, Armaan Mudgil bt. Garvit Vats W/O, Angad Brar BYE, Tarush Bagai bt. Parteek Saroha 8-0, Chirag Malhotra bt. Kartik Parhar 8-7 (0), Gautam Mittal bt. Yajur Bansal 8-4, Sammer R. BYE, Sehaj Nangal bt. Mahistam Kumar 8-4, Saideep Roi bt. Dhairya Chaddha 8-4, Jaspreet Multani bt. Kunal Patiyal 8-4, Manik Singh BYE, Arjun Brar BYE, Naresh bt. Sarthak 8-4, Devansh Kakkar bt. Bhupinder Dahiya 8-5, Krishan Hooda bt. Ajay Kundu 8-2.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.