With eye on 2014 LS polls, Vinod Khanna back at Gurdaspur

The 2014 Parliamentary elections may be far away, but a race of kinds for the BJP ticket from Gurdaspur constituency has already begun. Actor and three-time Member of Parliament from Gurdaspur Vinod Khanna and industrialist and BJP national executive committee member Swaran Salaria are staking claim to the seat.

Vinod Khanna, who lost in the 2009 Parliamentary polls to Partap Singh Bajwa of the Congress, has started a flurry of activity at the constituency in the recent past. After attending a Bharatiya Janta Yuva Morcha (BJYM) rally in the constituency, Vinod Khanna on Sunday took time off and reached Batala and Qadian to visit the families of victims of Gastroenteritis and the man killed in fire cracker factory, respectively at both places.

"This is my karma bhoomi. I have been three-time MP from Gurdaspur. I would love to contest from Gurdaspur again this time. It is the love of the people that binds me to this constituency," Khanna said, after interacting with family members of some victims.

Swaran Salaria, when contacted, said he was made the BJP in-charge of assembly constituencies falling under Gurdaspur and had helped the party win three out of four seats it contested.

"The winning margin was unparalleled from 16,000 votes to 26,000 votes. If the BJP considers my name from Gurdaspur this time, I would win the seat with over 1 lakh votes," Salaria said, underlining that he was closely associated with the constituency and had agricultural land in the area. "It is only that my business is spread in different parts of the country," he added.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.