Yeddyurappa quits BJP, targets Gadkari in letter


While a group of loyalist ministers in the BJP government in Karnataka — Basavaraj Bommai, Umesh Katti, C M Udasi, V Somanna — called on Yeddyurappa at his residence before he set out to quit, none of them participated in a rally and post resignation meetings.

Only five MLAs, three MLCs, three MPs — including his son Raghavendra — were in Yeddyurappa's company on Friday. Two former Congress MLAs and a JDS MLA however joined Yeddyurappa.

Meanwhile, hours after quitting the BJP, Yeddyurappa joined the KJP. Party interim president V Dhananjayakumar admitted Yeddyurappa into the party by enrolling him as primary member.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.